People at RMATRIX



Pilot Project Investigators
photo Agsalda-Garcia, Melissa PhD

Pilot Project PI
Adjunct Affiliate
Hawaii Center for AIDS and
Department of Tropical Medicine, Medical Microbiology & Pharmacology
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawai’i at Manoa

(808) 692-1649
magsalda@hawaii.edu


photo Bandar, Ivo Sah MD, PhD

Pilot Project PI
Adjunct Instructor (Genetic Research Scientist)
Hawaii Center for AIDS &
Department of Tropical Medicine Medical Microbiology & Pharmacology
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawai’i at Manoa

(808) 692-1665
ivosb@hawaii.edu


photo Banna, Jinan PhD

Pilot Project PI
Assistant Professor
Department of Human Nutrition, Food and Animal Sciences
College of Tropical Agriculture & Human Resources
University of Hawai’i at Manoa

(808) 956-7857
jcbanna@hawaii.edu


photo Barile, John PhD

Assistant Professor
Department of Psychology
College of Social Sciences
University of Hawaii Manoa

(808)956-6271
Barile@hawaii.edu


photo Burlingame, Janet MD

Pilot Project Co-PI
Emerging Investigator - Perinatal, Growth, and Developmental Health
Assistant Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology and Women’s Health
John A. Burns School of Medicine

808.203.6543
burlinga@hawaii.edu


photo Chang, Ann, MD

Assistant Professor
Department of OB/GYN
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawaii

(808) 203-6500
annchang@hawaii.edu


photo Chang, Sandra PhD

Pilot Project PI
Professor, Department of Tropical Medicine, Medical Microbiology & Pharmacology
John A. Burns School of Medicine

808.692.1607
sandrac@hawaii.edu


photo Chow, Dominic MD, PhD

Associate Professor
Departments of Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawaii Manoa

dominicc@hawaii.edu


photo Csiszar, Katalin PhD

Pilot Project PI
Emerging Investigator
Researcher, Department of Anatomy, Biochemistry & Physiology
Researcher, Department of Complementary & Alternative Medicine
John A. Burns School of Medicine

808.956.9452
katalin@hawaii.edu


photo Dela Cruz, May Rose, DrPH

Assistant Researcher
Office of Public Health Studies
School of Social Work
University of Hawaii Manoa

(808)956-8530
isnec@hawaii.edu


photo Delormier, Treena PhD

Pilot Project PI
Assistant Professor
Office of Public Health Studies
University of Hawai’i at Manoa

(808) 956-5742
treenad@hawaii.edu


photo Fan, Victoria ScD

Pilot Project PI
Assistant Professor
College of Health Sciences & Social Welfare
and Office of Public Health Studies
University of Hawai’i at Manoa

(808) 956-5596
vfan@hawaii.edu


photo Hong, Seunghye PhD

Pilot Project PI
Associate Professor
Myron B. Thompson School of Social Work
University of Hawai’i Manoa

(808) 956-4605
shong9@hawaii.edu


photo Kaholokula, Joseph Keawe'aimoku PhD

Core Co-Director - Community-Based Research
HEALTH Initiative Leader - Nutrition & Metabolic
Chair, Department of Native Hawaiian Health
John A Burns School of Medicine

808.692.1047
kaholoku@hawaii.edu


Kallianpur, Kalpana PhD

Assistant Researcher
Department of Medicine
John A. Burns School of Medicine

808.692.1331
kalpana@hawaii.edu


photo Kwee, Sandi MD, MSc, PhD

Clinical Adjunct Professor
Cancer Biology Program
University of Hawaii Cancer Center

Associate Professor
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawaii at Manoa

Director for PET Research
The Queen’s Medical Center

(808)691-5466
kwee@hawaii.edu


photo Lubecke, Victor M. PhD

Pilot Project PI
Professor
College of Engineering
Department of Electrical Engineering
University of Hawai’i at Manoa

(808) 956-4942
Email: lubecke@hawaii.edu


photo MacPherson, Iain PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Department of Tropical Medicine, Medical Microbiology and Pharmacology
Investigator
Hawaii Center for AIDS

(808)692-1310
iain@hawaii.edu


photo Morita, Shane MD, MS

Pilot Project PI
Emerging Investigator - Cancer
Director, Surgical Oncology Research Program
Assistant Professor, Department of Surgery
John A Burns School of Medicine

808.547.8777
smorita@queens.org


photo Nakamoto, Beau MD PhD

Pilot Project PI
Emerging Investigator - Aging & Neurocognitive Health
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine
John A. Burns School of Medicine

808.779.5980


photo Neal, Charles Jr. MD, PhD

HEALTH Initiative Leader - Perinatal, Growth, and Development
Pilot Project Co-PI
Emerging Investigator - Perinatal, Growth, and Development
Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics
John A. Burns School of Medicine

808.983.8387
cneal@kapiolani.org


photo Panee, Jun PhD

Pilot Project PI
Associate Professor
Department of Cell & Molecular Biology
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawai’i at Manoa

(808) 692-1521
junchen@hawaii.edu


Parikh, Nisha MD

Emerging Investigator
HEALTH Initiative Scholar - Cardiovascular Health
Clinical and Research Cardiovascular Physician, Queen’s Medical Center
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine
John A. Burns School of Medicine

808.537.7152


photo Pirkle, Catherine

Assistant Professor
Health Policy and Management
Office of Public Health Studies
School of Social Work
University of Hawaii Manoa

(808) 956-8748
cmpirkle@hawaii.edu


photo Pokhrel, Pallav PhD

Pilot Project PI
Assistant Professor
Cancer Prevention and Control Program
University of Hawaii’s Cancer Center
University of Hawai’i at Manoa

(808) 441-7711
PPokhrel@cc.hawaii.edu


photo Salcedo, Jennifer MD, MPH, MPP

Pilot Project PI
Assistant Professor
Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology & Women’s Health
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawai’i Manoa

(312)213-0064
jlsalced@hawaii.edu


photo Sentell, Tetine PhD

Pilot Project PI
Associate Professor
Office of Public Health Studies
University of Hawai’i at Manoa

(808) 956-5781
tsentell@hawaii.edu


photo Sinclair, Kaimi PhD

Assistant Researcher
Department of Native Hawaiian Health
John A. Burns School of Medicine

808.692.1048
kaimisin@hawaii.edu


Soll, Bruce MD

Assistant Clinical Professor
Department of Medicine
John A. Burns School of Medicine

Director of Medical Education
Queen’s Medical Center

808.547.4966
soll@hawaii.edu


photo Somponpun, Suwit Jack PhD

Pilot Project PI
Emerging Investigator - Cardiovascular Health
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Anatomy, Biochemistry & Physiology
John A. Burns School of Medicine

808.692.1420
suwit@hawaii.edu


photo Souza, Scott PharmD

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Department of Medicine
John A. Burns School of Medicine

ssouza@hawaii.edu
(808)692-1310


photo Stokes, Alexander PhD, BSc, MSc

Pilot Project PI
Emerging Investigator - Cardiovascular Health
Assistant Researcher, Department of Cell & Molecular Biology
John A. Burns School of Medicine

808.692.1633


photo Tiirikainen, Maarit PhD

Associate Specialist and Full Member
Translational and Clinical Research
University of Hawai’i Cancer Center

Director
Genomics Shared Resource
University of Hawai’i Cancer Center

(808)440-4570
maarit@cc.hawaii.edu


photo Townsend, Claire DrPH

Pilot Project PI
Assistant Professor
Department of Native Hawaiian Health
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawai’i at Manoa

(808) 692-1042
clairemt@hawaii.edu


photo Tschann, Mary MPH

Pilot Project PI
Junior Researcher
Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology & Women’s Health
John A. Burns School of Medicine
University of Hawai’i Manoa

(808) 203-6534
mtschann@hawaii.edu


photo Tse, Alice PhD

Associate Professor
School of Nursing and Dental Hygiene
University of Hawaii Manoa

808.956.7916
atse@hawaii.edu
[School of Nursing Directory]


photo Urschitz, Johann PhD

Pilot Project PI
Emerging Investigator - Perinatal, Growth, and Development
Assistant Professor, Department of Anatomy, Biochemistry & Physiology
John A. Burns School of Medicine

808.956.7417
johann@hawaii.edu


photo Wakano, Clay, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Specialist
Natural Products & Experimental Therapeutics Program
University of Hawaii Cancer Center

(808) 691-7925
cwakano@queens.org


photo Wills, Thomas PhD

HEALTH Initiative Leader - Cancer
Pilot Project PI
Professor (Researcher)
University of Hawaii Cancer Center

808.441.7708
twills@cc.hawaii.edu


photo Yanagihara, Angel PhD

Pilot Project PI
Emerging Investigator - Cardiovascular Health
Assistant Researcher, Department of Tropical Medicine, Medical Microbiology & Pharmacology
John A. Burns School of Medicine

808.956.8328


photo Zuo, Yi PhD

Pilot Project PI
Emerging Investigator - Respiratory
Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
College of Engineering
University of Hawaii Manoa

808.956.9650


News
15 September 2017:
RCMI Conference Travel Support

We are currently encouraging scientists engaged in health disparities research, healthcare and public health professionals, public policy professional…

10 September 2017:
Call for Abstracts: RCMI Translational Science 2017 Conference

Call for Abstracts

Abstract Deadline Extended

Submit Your Abstracts

Abstract submission for oral and poster presentations is…

16 May 2017:
Robert Wood Johnson Funding Opportunity

If our nation is to make the opportunity for health available to all, we need leaders who will be able to meet the challenges before us – leade…


View more news...


Seminars & Events
16 June 2017, 9am - 10:30am:
HEALTH & MEDICINE SEMINAR - Kukulu Ola Hou
02 June 2017, 8:15am - 4:10pm:
PROMOTING EXCELLENCE IN CLINICAL RESEARCH
02 November 2016, 9am:
RMATRIX-II Collaboration Pilot Projects Program 2017 -- Informational Webinar

View more seminars & events...

Supported by a grant from the National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (U54MD007584), National Institutes of Health.